“Happy Phantom” A Unique Take On Death

Original artwork by Marc Bovino

Original artwork by Marc Bovino

At the Day of the Dead concert on November 1st at 5pm,  Choral Chameleon will be singing a choral arrangement (created by artistic director Vince Peterson) of Tori Amos’ “Happy Phantom” from her 1992 debut album Little Earthquakes.  This song is often described as the only song on Tori’s landmark album that is remotely upbeat or cheerful.  And yet, the song is about being dead.

 

Lyrics

And if I die today I’ll be the happy phantom
And I’ll go chasing the nuns out in the yard
And I’ll run naked through the streets without my mask on
And I will never need umbrellas in the rain
I’ll wake up in strawberry fields everday
And the atrocities of school I can forgive
The happy phantom has no right to bitch

Oo who- the time is getting closer
Oo who- time to be a ghost
Oo who- every day were getting closer
The sun is getting dim
Will we pay for who we’ve been?

So if I die today I’ll be the happy phantom
And I’ll go wearing my naughties like a jewel
They’ll be my ticket to the universal opera
There’s Judy Garland taking Buddha by the hand
And then these seven little men get up to dance
They say Confucius does his crossword with a pen
I’m still the angel to the girl who hates to sin

Oo who- the time is getting closer
Oo who- the time to be a ghost
Oo who- every day were getting closer
The sun is getting dim
Will I pay for who I’ve been?

Or will I see you dear and wish I could come back
You found a girl that you could truly love again
Will you still call for me when she falls asleep
Or do we soon forget the things we cannot see?

Oo who- the time is getting closer
Oo who- the time to be a ghost
Oo who- every day were getting closer
The sun is getting dim
Will I pay for who I’ve been?

 

Everyone has a theory or belief system about what happens when we die.  And yet, so many of us fear death more than anything else in this world.  What really happens when we’re gone?  What is the afterlife?  Is there an afterlife?  Tori Amos has created a context in which death is more than something to look forward to- it’s going to be more fun than anything we’ve seen in our earthly existence.

It’s a great concept.  And when the 20 members of Choral Chameleon share it with an audience, people will be transformed.

Leave a Reply

