Choral Chameleon Artist Profile: Katie Zaffrann

Chameleon BlogSoprano Katie Zaffrann, Choral Chameleon’s founding (and largely irreplaceable) President offers us this rousing look into her performance career.

Katie Zaffrann is a versatile performing artist and arts administrator dedicated to promoting the human spirit through performance.

She has performed throughout New York City in numerous concerts, workshops and readings, as well as in Personal Space Theatrics’ hit productions of A Christmas Carol at The Barrow Group.  Classical stage experience includes a summer season at Shakespeare & Company in Lenox, Mass. and a national tour performing in two-actor versions of Alice in Wonderland and an educational Shakespeare production for kids.

She also sings with indie rock/electronica group Little Grey Girlfriend and can be heard on their live set on Breakthru Radio.

Katie holds a BFA in Musical Theatre from Syracuse University, where she was the recipient of the Edward Greer Award for Classic Acting for her performance as Olivia in Twelfth Night.  She studies voice in New York City with Ruth Williams Hennessy and coaches with VP Boyle, and has also trained classically at Shakespeare & Co. and at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London, England.

Visit her online at http://katiezaffrann.com.

Katie, what are you currently up to outside of Choral Chameleon?

I will be performing this Christmas in Miracle on 34th Street at the John W. Engeman Theater in Northport, Long Island.  It’s actually my first full production in nearly two years, and I’m really excited.  I’m also in the process of building my online presence at katiezaffrann.com … and I have some things up my sleeve for 2010.  You’ll just have to subscribe to my RSS feed or my mailing list to find out what they are!

Do you have a favorite inspirational quote?

I’m not sure I can pick a favorite!  I have so many I like that I have a rotating quote section on the front page of my new website.  But if I had to choose one for the moment, it would be:

“Perfection is static, and we are in full progress.”  — anais nin

Why do you enjoy being a member of Choral Chameleon?

I remember when I was in my freshman year of acting school, and a junior-level musical theater class performed a group number for the rest of the department.  I heard the ensemble parts and remarked to myself how none of them were actually singing WITH each other — they were a bunch of soloists singing at the same time.  Singing with Chameleon is the first time since my formative choral years in high school where I’ve been able to experience that indescribable, irreplaceable HUMAN spark of voices blending and making music together.  I love the varied backgrounds of everyone in the group, and the way we focus all those individual voices into one beautiful tone.  It feeds me in a way that none of my other artistic ventures do.

What would you say to a person who is “on the fence” about coming to a Choral Chameleon concert?

Leave any preconceived notions of “choral music” at the door and come share this experience with us!

The Choral Chameleon blog is a human effort on the part of Andrew Cook-Feltz, baritone and Singer Representative to the board (ex-officio)

One Response to “Choral Chameleon Artist Profile: Katie Zaffrann”

  1. day of the dead - k a t i e z a f f r a n n Says:

    […] (pssst: you can also check out my singer profile on the chameleon blog, here.) […]


Leave a Reply

